Wednesdays: For One Thing Only

Welcome to Wednesday! I hope your sleep was deep and your dreams were light.

If there’s one thing I love any day of the week, it’s a good word. And as an aspiring writer, perhaps I should find some better words to use than ‘good’. So maybe One Word Wednesdays will help all of us find some new and intriguing words to spice up our ever-growing vocabularies.

Quixotic: 

1:  foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals; especially :  marked by rash lofty romantic ideas or extravagantly chivalrous action

2:  capricious, unpredictable

My God, I love this word. It seems to embody everything that 13 year old me glorified and idealized. I wanted to be that carefree and outrageous girl with the wild hair and the quick tongue. I never became that person. The fascination I developed with overly romanticized characters in young adult fiction only fueled my desires to be everything my mother would hate. But today, I sit here as an adult, and I am content with writing blog posts about the fragments of characteristics that exist within my alter-ego whilst The Office plays softly in the background.

Leave a Reply

